6th Annual Midwest Mediation Conference September 16 - 17, 2016 featuring Tammy Lenski

picture of Tammy Lenski

Tammy began her career in higher education, serving as a dean and vice president, then later as a co-founder of the world's first master's degree in mediation, now housed at Champlain College. She is the author of The Conflict Pivot (2014) and the award-winning Making Mediation Your Day Job. In 2012, she received the Mary Parker Follett Award for innovative and pioneering work in the conflict resolution field. In 2015, she received the Pioneer Award from the New England Association for Conflict Resolution for significant contributions to the conflict resolution field and passionate commitment to the profession's growth and development.

Since she founded her own conflict resolution firm in 1997, she has been helping leaders, managers, business owners, mediators, and coaches turn "what ifs" into reality for 20 years. Her website lists some of them:

What if...

  • Stubborn conflict was no match for your creativity and resourcefulness?
  • You could handle emotionally charged conflict with composure and finesse?
  • Clients and employees sought out your problem solving prowess?
  • Vexing conflict behaviors dissolved under your guidance?
  • You knew how to translate conflict resolution savvy into an influential career?

By attending the Conference, you will have a chance to learn from one of the best in the business and get answers to at least some of these questions. Other interesting "firsts" listed on her website include:

  • Teaching conflict resolution and negotiation in four graduate programs
  • Being one of the very first online mediators in the world, part of a small group tapped for eBay's then-new online dispute resolution program. While there, she mediated disputes as small as Barbie Doll petticoats and as large as islands bought sight unseen!
  • Being in the first group of mediators to mediate for the New Hampshire Probate Court's first-in-the-nation probate mediation program
  • Being the very first conflict resolution professional in the world appointed to Association for Conflict Resolution's Academy of Advanced Practitioners in 2013
  • Perhaps being the very first conflict resolution blogger in the world, having started in 2002!

At the Conference, Tammy will be talking about "De-Escalating High-Heat Encounters" and "Managing Frustrating Behaviors in the Mediation Room" the first day and will spend the second day on "Resolving Chronic Conflict" for clients in ongoing relationships. Tammy's goal is for you to walk away from the conference with two things: Concrete ideas you can begin applying immediately and the inspiration to go do it!

This two-day Conference, sponsored by the Indiana Association of Mediators in conjunction with the Indiana Chapter of the National Association of Social Workers, will be held at the Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Northwest on Friday, September 16th and Saturday, September 17th.

Members of the Indiana Chapter of the National Association of Social Workers may attend the Conference at the same cost as current IAM members. For persons who are not currently IAM or NASW members*, the cost of registration includes 2016 and 2017 IAM membership.

Your registration includes on-line access to all Conference materials, as well as morning and afternoon snacks and lunches. There will be time for extensive networking and to get answers to your questions, so come prepared. If you prefer to have materials printed in a binder, there is an additional fee of $10.00 and the materials will be available at registration.

The Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Northwest will be offering a block of rooms at a discounted price with breakfast for attendees of the Conference. When booking a room, it is necessary to identify yourself as a Conference attendee to receive this discounted rate, otherwise their normal rate will apply.

Scholarships: The IAM is offering ten (10) $100 scholarships that may be applied to the cost of your registration to students, new mediators, and those with financial need. The $100 scholarship applies only to two-day registrations. For one-day registrations, $50 scholarships are available. Please contact IAM at (317) 732-8585 for more scholarship information. If registration is done on-line, you will be issued a reimbursement check for $100 at the Conference.

2015 - 2016 Officers and Directors

At the Annual Meeting of the Membership, which was held on October 26, 2015, members had an opportunity to share ideas on "Building a Mediation Practice". There was also an election of officers and directors and the following individuals were re-elected for 2015 - 2016: Ann Thrasher - President; Megan Wells - Vice President (President-Elect); Portland Schnitzius - Secretary; and Rick Wacker - Treasurer. All of the officers serve as Directors of the Association. Dustin Matern, as Past President, serves on the Executive Committee and as a director. Other directors elected at the meeting include: Marlo Dale (Indianapolis), Mark Fairchild (Avon), Lisa Fears (Franklin), Marla Hylton (Carmel), Carolyn Roper (Westville), Lea Shelemey (Valparaiso), June Shrieves (Greenwood), La Donna Trapp (Valparaiso), Kim Van Valer (Franklin) and Tess Worrell (Lebanon).

Task Force Established to Consider Changes to Indiana's ADR Rules

Indiana Chief Justice Brent Dickson has appointed an Alternative Dispute Resolution Task Force, chaired by Judge David Avery to consider and propose changes to the current Indiana Rules of Alternative Dispute Resolution. Subcommittees have also been established to review the ADR Rules in four areas: (1) domestic relations mediation; (2) civil mediation; (3) arbitration; and (4) mini-trials, summary jury trials, and private judges. The IAM is well represented in this process by Past President Kim Van Valer, the current President Ann Thrasher, and director Andrea Ciobanu.

IAM Continues to Investigate Community Mediation Centers

The Board continues to investigate Community Mediation Centers. If you're interested in getting involved in this project, please contact Mary Hoeller. If enough information becomes available, a separate page will be added to this website in the future.